By AIFL - Aug 17, 2015

For Further Information
Contact: Daniella Rilov
Tel: 212-213-8630 Ext. 226
Email: AMERICA-ISRAEL FRIENDSHIP LEAGUE TO HONOR KENNETH J. BIALKIN AND AMBASSADOR ZALMAN SHOVAL New York, N.Y., August 17, 2015 - On Tuesday, October 20, 2015 the America-Israel Friendship League (AIFL) will honor its longtime Chairman, Kenneth J. Bialkin, and Ambassador Zalman Shoval, former Israeli Ambassador to the United States, with its highest accolade, The AIFL Partners for Democracy Award. The Annual Partners for Democracy Awards Dinner will be held at The Plaza Hotel in New York City on October 20th. This Gala Dinner is a major New Your City event and attracts a broad representation from government, corporate, financial and international communities, as well as diplomatic and philanthropic recognition. Ken Bialkin and Ambassador Shoval have each distinguished themselves in their private professional careers in addition to the many years of leadership each has dedicated to supporting the strong alliance and friendship between the United States and Israel. Mr. Bialkin has been a long time partner at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom and he is currently Of Counsel. In his professional life he has served on the board of directors of several of America's leading companies and has participated in numerous major corporate events. Mr. Bialkin has served as Chairman of the Business Law Section of the American Bar Association, as President of the New York County Lawyer's Association, and for 20 years he was an adjunct professor of Law at the New York University School of Law. He was a member of the board of the Municipal Assistance Corporation for the City of New York and also served as Secretary and a member of the Board of Trustees of The Carnegie Hall Corporation. As a longtime leader of the Jewish Community of the United States, in addition to serving as Chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations and Chairman of the America-Israel Friendship League (AIFL), Mr. Bialkin served as National Chairman of the Anti-Defamation League; Chairman of the American Jewish Historical Society; and President of the Jewish Community Relations Council of New York. Zalman Shoval was twice Israel's Ambassador to the U.S. (1990-1993 and 1998-2000). He now heads the Prime Minister's Advisory Forum on U.S.-Israel relations (part of Israel's National Security Council) and serves on a voluntary basis as a Special Envoy for Prime Minister Netanyahu. Ambassador Shoval was a four-term member Knesset taking David Ben-Gurion's seat when the latter retired from the Knesset, and a close colleague of Moshe Dayan. Between 1977-1980, including during the Camp David Conference, he was in charge of Israel's public policy activities. In his other activities, Ambassador Shoval has been engaged for many years in the banking and investment fields, initiating the founding of the "Bank of Jerusalem" of which he was Chairman for many years, as well as heading the Council of the Israeli Bankers Association. He is the Chairman of "Export Investment Corp. Ltd" and past President of the Israel-U.S. Chamber of Commerce. In 2000 he co-founded the "Faire Fund" engaging in residential building. He is a former Chairman of the Israeli Opera. Ambassador Shoval is on the Board of the annual Herzlia Conference as well as the International Board of CSIS in Washington D.C. He publishes political and economic articles in Israel and abroad. On the morning of the Gala Dinner, AIFL will celebrate the 9th Annual Israel Day at the New York Stock Exchange, initiated by the NYSE and the America-Israel Friendship League. The program demonstrates the benefits of the close cooperation which has existed between the United States and Israel. Since 1971, The AIFL has been dedicated to strengthening the relationship between the people of the United States and Israel. The League's founders include distinguished civic, political, business and religious leaders. Previous recipients of The Partners for Democracy Award include: George P. Shultz, Ambassador Dan Gillerman, Professor Bernard Lewis, Dov Lautman, Mort Zuckerman, Al Schwimmer, Jack F. Kemp, Eli Horowitz, Lally Graham Weymouth, Yitzhak Tshuva, Malcolm Hoenlein, Dr. Raymond R. Sackler, Raymond W. Kelly, Dan Senor, Drs. Cedric & June Dempsey, Gilat Satellite Networks, Ltd. Lester Crown, Shari Arison, Dr. Miriam & Sheldon Adelson, MK Amir Peretz, Galia Maor, NASDAQ & NYSE, Yair Seroussi, Brig. Gen. (Res.) Dr. Daniel Gold and The Iron Dome Project.